The Electrical and Computer Engineering Academy is an important alumni organization made of distinguished ECE alumni and strategic friends. The Mission of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Academy (ECEA) is to guarantee continued excellence in the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department’s teaching, research, and development programs.



The ECE Academy is governed by its by-laws. The latest by-law revision was 2014. To view the current by-laws, click here.


Minutes and Other Files

The ECE Academy 2014 meeting minutes can be found here. [PDF]

The Industrial Advisory Group (IAG) 2014 meeting minutes can be found here. [PDF]

To view Dr. Ranade’s slideshow from the 2014 meeting, click here. [PDF]


The 2013-2014 ECE Academy Officers are listed below:

2013-2014 Academy Board of Directors
Name Position Term End
Manny Mora Chair 2017
Brian Kopp Vice Chair 2018
David Wiegandt Secretary 2017
Scott Miller Treasurer / Finance Committee Representative 2018
Christopher Long
Member 2017
Stephen Horan Past Chair 2016


2013-2014 ECE Membership Committee
Name Position
Joseph Nevarez Co-Chairman
Don Merrill Co-Chairman
John Scruggs Member
Vincent Boudreau Member
Steve Omick Member
Bob Witter Member
2013-2014 IAG Members from ECEA
Name Term End
Andrus Garay 2015
William Garcia 2016
Leroy Gomez 2014
Patricia Nava 2017
Rick Shumard 2018
Gerry Stolarczyk 2018











If you would like to join the ECE Academy, please view this letter for qualifications and requirements: Qualifications and Requirements. The 2014 new member nomination format document can be found here: 2014 New Member Nomination Format The ECE Academy members are listed in the table below:

Charter members inducted in 1991 are indicated by the “‡” next to their names. Deceased members are indicated by the “†” next to their name.

  • The results are being filtered by the character: O
Photo of Steve Omick
Steve Omick
NMSU Degrees: 1986 BSEE
1987 MSEE
 1993 PhD
Year Inducted: 2011





Photo of William Osborne
William Osborne
NMSU Degrees: 1970 PhD
Year Inducted: 1996




William P. Osborne joined the University of Texas at Dallas in September 1995, as Dean of the Erik Jonsson School of Engineering and Computer Science and Ericsson Chair and he retired from UTD in 2002. He has since served as Dean at University of Missouri at KC and Southern Illinois University, where he retired for final time in 2010. He came to UTD from New Mexico State University, where he was Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, holder of the Carden Chair and the Director of the Center for Space Telemetering and Telecommunications Systems.

Prior to his career in higher education Dean Osborne spent twenty years in the telecommunications industry. His roles in industry included seven years as VP Engineering and then President of Comsat Technology Products, a division of Communications Satellite Corporation in Washington, D.C. While at Comsat, he led the company in its successful entry into the data communications business area using very small aperture terminals (VSAT’s). Dean Osborne also spent eight years at Harris Corporation in Melbourne, Florida, where he rose to the level of VP of Engineering for the Satellite Communications Division. He also served as president of Telinq, a small telecommunications company in Richardson, which became a division of the ADC Corporation of Minneapolis.

One of Dean Osborne’s goals while at UTD has been to strengthen the research and educational links between UTD and the high-technology business community in Dallas and Richardson. He continues to work at achieving this goal through involvement with the Telecom Corridor ® Technology Business Council (TBC) and the School’s Advisory Council. Another main goal is to assist the School in increasing student enrollment, (which is up 250% in the last six years), and faculty appointments while enhancing diversity in both groups. Dean Osborne is also actively engaged in strengthening the School’s research with programs such as the recently announced Texas Telecommunications Education Consortium (TxTEC) in which he is a board member.

Dr. Osborne is also on the broad of Directors of @Track Communications in Richardson, SigmaTel Corporation in Austin, and the Technical Advisory Board of CenterPoint Broadband Communications in San Jose, as well as the Advisory Boards for Electrical Engineering at New Mexico State University and Kansas State University.