Arlene Yusnukis » Academy


The Electrical and Computer Engineering Academy is an important alumni organization made of distinguished ECE alumni and strategic friends. The Mission of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Academy (ECEA) is to guarantee continued excellence in the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department’s teaching, research, and development programs.



The ECE Academy is governed by its by-laws. The latest by-law revision was 2014. To view the current by-laws, click here.


Minutes and Other Files

The ECE Academy 2014 meeting minutes can be found here. [PDF]

The Industrial Advisory Group (IAG) 2014 meeting minutes can be found here. [PDF]

To view Dr. Ranade’s slideshow from the 2014 meeting, click here. [PDF]


The 2013-2014 ECE Academy Officers are listed below:

2013-2014 Academy Board of Directors
Name Position Term End
Manny Mora Chair 2017
Brian Kopp Vice Chair 2018
David Wiegandt Secretary 2017
Scott Miller Treasurer / Finance Committee Representative 2018
Christopher Long
Member 2017
Stephen Horan Past Chair 2016


2013-2014 ECE Membership Committee
Name Position
Joseph Nevarez Co-Chairman
Don Merrill Co-Chairman
John Scruggs Member
Vincent Boudreau Member
Steve Omick Member
Bob Witter Member
2013-2014 IAG Members from ECEA
Name Term End
Andrus Garay 2015
William Garcia 2016
Leroy Gomez 2014
Patricia Nava 2017
Rick Shumard 2018
Gerry Stolarczyk 2018











If you would like to join the ECE Academy, please view this letter for qualifications and requirements: Qualifications and Requirements. The 2014 new member nomination format document can be found here: 2014 New Member Nomination Format The ECE Academy members are listed in the table below:

Charter members inducted in 1991 are indicated by the “‡” next to their names. Deceased members are indicated by the “†” next to their name.

Arlene Yusnukis

Photo of Arlene Yusnukis

Biographical Info

NMSU Degrees: 1985 BS
Year Inducted: 2000 (Honorary Member)






Arlene M Yusnukis, elected an honorary member in 2000, holds Bachelors of Science in Computer Science and Mathematics from NMSU’s College of Arts and Sciences granted in 1984. She was the first female member of the Academy. She began her career as a software engineer with Hewlett-Packard in their Colorado Networks Division and has held numerous engineering and managerial positions with HP, Agilent Technologies, Verigy (now Advantest), and several other high tech companies since graduation. She actively promoted NMSU within HP/Agilent and was able to secure meaningful grants for several departments in the College of Engineering. She is currently back at HP working in their Storage business in the area of converged cloud systems management.

Categories: Academy