Benjamin Boykin » Academy


The Electrical and Computer Engineering Academy is an important alumni organization made of distinguished ECE alumni and strategic friends. The Mission of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Academy (ECEA) is to guarantee continued excellence in the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department’s teaching, research, and development programs.



The ECE Academy is governed by its by-laws. The latest by-law revision was 2014. To view the current by-laws, click here.


Minutes and Other Files

The ECE Academy 2014 meeting minutes can be found here. [PDF]

The Industrial Advisory Group (IAG) 2014 meeting minutes can be found here. [PDF]

To view Dr. Ranade’s slideshow from the 2014 meeting, click here. [PDF]


The 2013-2014 ECE Academy Officers are listed below:

2013-2014 Academy Board of Directors
Name Position Term End
Manny Mora Chair 2017
Brian Kopp Vice Chair 2018
David Wiegandt Secretary 2017
Scott Miller Treasurer / Finance Committee Representative 2018
Christopher Long
Member 2017
Stephen Horan Past Chair 2016


2013-2014 ECE Membership Committee
Name Position
Joseph Nevarez Co-Chairman
Don Merrill Co-Chairman
John Scruggs Member
Vincent Boudreau Member
Steve Omick Member
Bob Witter Member
2013-2014 IAG Members from ECEA
Name Term End
Andrus Garay 2015
William Garcia 2016
Leroy Gomez 2014
Patricia Nava 2017
Rick Shumard 2018
Gerry Stolarczyk 2018











If you would like to join the ECE Academy, please view this letter for qualifications and requirements: Qualifications and Requirements. The 2014 new member nomination format document can be found here: 2014 New Member Nomination Format The ECE Academy members are listed in the table below:

Charter members inducted in 1991 are indicated by the “‡” next to their names. Deceased members are indicated by the “†” next to their name.

Benjamin Boykin

Photo of Benjamin Boykin

Biographical Info

NMSU Degrees: 1953 BSEE
Year Inducted: 1993




Retired from Rockwell International after 37 years, 1957 to 1994, on such research development and operational space programs as: Navajo, WS-131B “Hound Dog”, Apollo, Skylab, Apollo-SOYUZ, Space Shuttle Program, serving Rockwell in their Space Division operations in both Downy, California, and Houston, Texas at the NASA’s Johnson Space Center.

Held such technical management position with Rockwell as: Programs Director, Space Systems Division, Houston, TX; Associate Program manager, STSOC Facility Operations, Houston, TX; Chief Engineer, Shuttle Engineering, Production and Operations, Downey, CA; and various Director / Manager / Project Manager / Project Engineer assignments on space related technical hardware operations programs in the design, build, text, operational use of delivered spacecraft hardware system.

Career specialties are program / project management for the full spectrum of engineering design, fabrication, development test operations, maintenance and operations, logistics support and sub- contractor technical management.

Retired U.S. Air Force Reserve, Fighter Pilot / Flight Test Maintenance Officer, rank of Major, February 1953 to April 1982. BSEE (Communications), New Mexico State University, January 1953. Married, Wife Gwen, three children still at home and in college, the youngest, Kimberly, currently a Junior at NMSU.

Awards and Honors; Silver Knight of Management Award, National Management Association – 1989; NMSU Engineering College Alumni of the Year – 1985; NASA Public Service Award and Medal – 1982; NASA Astronaut Personal Achievement Award – 1969; Associate Fellow, American Institute of Aeronautics, and Astronautics – 1983; Outstanding Engineering Merit Award, Orange Count Engineering Council, California – 1983; Who’s Who in aviation and Aerospace – 1983

Categories: Academy