David Voelz » Academy


The Electrical and Computer Engineering Academy is an important alumni organization made of distinguished ECE alumni and strategic friends. The Mission of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Academy (ECEA) is to guarantee continued excellence in the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department’s teaching, research, and development programs.



The ECE Academy is governed by its by-laws. The latest by-law revision was 2014. To view the current by-laws, click here.


Minutes and Other Files

The ECE Academy 2014 meeting minutes can be found here. [PDF]

The Industrial Advisory Group (IAG) 2014 meeting minutes can be found here. [PDF]

To view Dr. Ranade’s slideshow from the 2014 meeting, click here. [PDF]


The 2013-2014 ECE Academy Officers are listed below:

2013-2014 Academy Board of Directors
Name Position Term End
Manny Mora Chair 2017
Brian Kopp Vice Chair 2018
David Wiegandt Secretary 2017
Scott Miller Treasurer / Finance Committee Representative 2018
Christopher Long
Member 2017
Stephen Horan Past Chair 2016


2013-2014 ECE Membership Committee
Name Position
Joseph Nevarez Co-Chairman
Don Merrill Co-Chairman
John Scruggs Member
Vincent Boudreau Member
Steve Omick Member
Bob Witter Member
2013-2014 IAG Members from ECEA
Name Term End
Andrus Garay 2015
William Garcia 2016
Leroy Gomez 2014
Patricia Nava 2017
Rick Shumard 2018
Gerry Stolarczyk 2018











If you would like to join the ECE Academy, please view this letter for qualifications and requirements: Qualifications and Requirements. The 2014 new member nomination format document can be found here: 2014 New Member Nomination Format The ECE Academy members are listed in the table below:

Charter members inducted in 1991 are indicated by the “‡” next to their names. Deceased members are indicated by the “†” next to their name.

David Voelz

Photo of David Voelz

Biographical Info

NMSU Degrees: 1981 BSEE
NMSU Faculty: 1998-present
Year Inducted: 2000





David Voelz is a professor of electrical engineering at New Mexico State University (Las Cruces, NM) and holds a Paul W. and Valerie Klipsch Professorship. He received the B.S. degree in electrical engineering from New Mexico State University in 1981 and received M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in electrical engineering from the University of Illinois in 1983 and 1987, respectively. From 1986 to 2001, he was with the Air Force Research Laboratory in Albuquerque, NM. He joined the faculty at the Klipsch School of Electrical and Computer Engineering at New Mexico State University in 2001. He was named a Fellow of SPIE in 1999 and has received an OSA Engineering Excellence Award, the Bromilow Award at NMSU for research excellence, and the Giller Award at AFRL for technical achievement. His research interests include spectral and polarimetric imaging, laser imaging and beam propagation, laser communications, adaptive optics, and astonomical instrumentation development.

Categories: Academy