Harley Myler » Academy


The Electrical and Computer Engineering Academy is an important alumni organization made of distinguished ECE alumni and strategic friends. The Mission of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Academy (ECEA) is to guarantee continued excellence in the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department’s teaching, research, and development programs.



The ECE Academy is governed by its by-laws. The latest by-law revision was 2014. To view the current by-laws, click here.


Minutes and Other Files

The ECE Academy 2014 meeting minutes can be found here. [PDF]

The Industrial Advisory Group (IAG) 2014 meeting minutes can be found here. [PDF]

To view Dr. Ranade’s slideshow from the 2014 meeting, click here. [PDF]


The 2013-2014 ECE Academy Officers are listed below:

2013-2014 Academy Board of Directors
Name Position Term End
Manny Mora Chair 2017
Brian Kopp Vice Chair 2018
David Wiegandt Secretary 2017
Scott Miller Treasurer / Finance Committee Representative 2018
Christopher Long
Member 2017
Stephen Horan Past Chair 2016


2013-2014 ECE Membership Committee
Name Position
Joseph Nevarez Co-Chairman
Don Merrill Co-Chairman
John Scruggs Member
Vincent Boudreau Member
Steve Omick Member
Bob Witter Member
2013-2014 IAG Members from ECEA
Name Term End
Andrus Garay 2015
William Garcia 2016
Leroy Gomez 2014
Patricia Nava 2017
Rick Shumard 2018
Gerry Stolarczyk 2018











If you would like to join the ECE Academy, please view this letter for qualifications and requirements: Qualifications and Requirements. The 2014 new member nomination format document can be found here: 2014 New Member Nomination Format The ECE Academy members are listed in the table below:

Charter members inducted in 1991 are indicated by the “‡” next to their names. Deceased members are indicated by the “†” next to their name.

Harley Myler

Photo of Harley Myler

Biographical Info

NMSU Degrees: 1981 MSEE
1985 PhD
Year Inducted: 2002





Harley Myler is Professor and Chair of the Department of Electrical Engineering at Lamar University in Beaumont Texas. He is also the inaugural holder of the William B. and Mary G. Mitchell Endowed Chair in Electrical Engineering. The Mitchell Chair in the College of Engineering was made possible by a gift of $1.2 million by the alumni couple to the Lamar University Foundation. Mr. Mitchell is a former Vice-Chairman of Texas Instruments, Inc. Dr. Myler’s research interests are in digital video processing with an emphasis on broadband and broadcast distribution. This includes source and destination display and presentation technologies, channel efficiency considerations, compression and coding, Internet and intranet issues, multimedia formats and video quality analysis and investigation.

Dr. Myler came to Lamar from the University of Central Florida, Orlando, where he was a professor of electrical engineering. He began his college education at Virginia Military Institute and received a double-major bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering and chemistry in 1975. After serving as a missile systems officer in the Army, he began studies at NMSU in 1979 and earned the MSEE in 1981 and the Ph.D. in electrical engineering in 1985. He began his academic career as an instructor at NMSU before joining the faculty at the University of Central Florida in 1986. He is a registered professional engineer in electrical engineering.

Dr. Myler has received several awards for teaching excellence from honor societies and other entities, including Computer Engineering Educator of the Year at UCF. He has published numerous books and articles and has obtained patents and copyrights for his work, in addition to securing more than $2 million in research grants.


Categories: Academy