Javin Taylor » Academy


The Electrical and Computer Engineering Academy is an important alumni organization made of distinguished ECE alumni and strategic friends. The Mission of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Academy (ECEA) is to guarantee continued excellence in the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department’s teaching, research, and development programs.



The ECE Academy is governed by its by-laws. The latest by-law revision was 2014. To view the current by-laws, click here.


Minutes and Other Files

The ECE Academy 2014 meeting minutes can be found here. [PDF]

The Industrial Advisory Group (IAG) 2014 meeting minutes can be found here. [PDF]

To view Dr. Ranade’s slideshow from the 2014 meeting, click here. [PDF]


The 2013-2014 ECE Academy Officers are listed below:

2013-2014 Academy Board of Directors
Name Position Term End
Manny Mora Chair 2017
Brian Kopp Vice Chair 2018
David Wiegandt Secretary 2017
Scott Miller Treasurer / Finance Committee Representative 2018
Christopher Long
Member 2017
Stephen Horan Past Chair 2016


2013-2014 ECE Membership Committee
Name Position
Joseph Nevarez Co-Chairman
Don Merrill Co-Chairman
John Scruggs Member
Vincent Boudreau Member
Steve Omick Member
Bob Witter Member
2013-2014 IAG Members from ECEA
Name Term End
Andrus Garay 2015
William Garcia 2016
Leroy Gomez 2014
Patricia Nava 2017
Rick Shumard 2018
Gerry Stolarczyk 2018











If you would like to join the ECE Academy, please view this letter for qualifications and requirements: Qualifications and Requirements. The 2014 new member nomination format document can be found here: 2014 New Member Nomination Format The ECE Academy members are listed in the table below:

Charter members inducted in 1991 are indicated by the “‡” next to their names. Deceased members are indicated by the “†” next to their name.

Javin Taylor

Photo of Javin Taylor

Biographical Info

NMSU Degrees:
Year Inducted: 2004




Javin M. Taylor, Professor Emeritus of Electrical and Computer Engineering retired on July 1, 2002, after serving as Professor and Associate Head, Klipsch School of Electrical & Computer Engineering, New Mexico State University. He has over 55 years of experience, including 10 years of engineering with various aerospace industries and 36 years of research and teaching with three universities. He received a BSEE from the University of Illinois, MSEE from the University of Southern California, and a PhD from the University of Wyoming. His early research interests were in the area of system theory and included the design of the nutation control system for NASA’s International Ultraviolet Experimenter satellite. Current research interests are in the areas of computer architecture and design, parallel computation, digital communication networks, and fuzzy neural networks. He has over 30 publications in the areas of computer architecture, parallel processing, system theory, and electrical engineering education. He’s directed a variety of research projects in industry and in universities spanning dynamic system simulation and design to computer architecture research, design of concurrent digital and signal processors networks, parallel computing research and applications, and advanced high-speed space telemetry. During 1987-1989, Dr. Taylor served as Head of Electrical & Computer Engineering at New Mexico State University. Dr. Taylor is a senior member of the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE) and the IEEE Computer Society. He’s been a reviewer for the IEEE Computer Society and an Accrediting Board for Engineering and Technology (ABET) evaluator for electrical engineering and computer engineering programs. He served on numerous university and state committees concerned with research, computing, and promotion and tenure issues. He is past chair of the University Research Council, the Academic Computer Advisory Group, and the University Data Authority Committee.

Dr. Taylor has directed 10 PhD dissertations and over 37 MS theses. He has directed 11 externally supported research projects totaling nearly $900,000 and has received nearly $4.6 million in equipment grants.

Since retirement, Dr. Taylor has taught six classes for the Klipsch School and continues to teach math classes for the Dona Ana Community College. He also consulted for one year with NewTec Corporation at White Sands Missile Range. His public service includes service on the Hearing Committee of the Disciplinary Board of the Supreme Court of the State of New Mexico and service as a judge for the annual State Fair Wine Competition.

Categories: Academy