John Scruggs » Academy


The Electrical and Computer Engineering Academy is an important alumni organization made of distinguished ECE alumni and strategic friends. The Mission of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Academy (ECEA) is to guarantee continued excellence in the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department’s teaching, research, and development programs.



The ECE Academy is governed by its by-laws. The latest by-law revision was 2014. To view the current by-laws, click here.


Minutes and Other Files

The ECE Academy 2014 meeting minutes can be found here. [PDF]

The Industrial Advisory Group (IAG) 2014 meeting minutes can be found here. [PDF]

To view Dr. Ranade’s slideshow from the 2014 meeting, click here. [PDF]


The 2013-2014 ECE Academy Officers are listed below:

2013-2014 Academy Board of Directors
Name Position Term End
Manny Mora Chair 2017
Brian Kopp Vice Chair 2018
David Wiegandt Secretary 2017
Scott Miller Treasurer / Finance Committee Representative 2018
Christopher Long
Member 2017
Stephen Horan Past Chair 2016


2013-2014 ECE Membership Committee
Name Position
Joseph Nevarez Co-Chairman
Don Merrill Co-Chairman
John Scruggs Member
Vincent Boudreau Member
Steve Omick Member
Bob Witter Member
2013-2014 IAG Members from ECEA
Name Term End
Andrus Garay 2015
William Garcia 2016
Leroy Gomez 2014
Patricia Nava 2017
Rick Shumard 2018
Gerry Stolarczyk 2018











If you would like to join the ECE Academy, please view this letter for qualifications and requirements: Qualifications and Requirements. The 2014 new member nomination format document can be found here: 2014 New Member Nomination Format The ECE Academy members are listed in the table below:

Charter members inducted in 1991 are indicated by the “‡” next to their names. Deceased members are indicated by the “†” next to their name.

John Scruggs

Photo of John Scruggs

Biographical Info

NMSU Degrees: 1964 BSEE
Year Inducted: 2001




John Scruggs, elected as a full member, graduated from the Klipsch School in 1964 with a BSEE degree. During his time at NMSU he was a co-op at White Sands for 3 years. His career began as a circuit design engineer for the Motorola Government Electronics Division in Scottsdale, Arizona. Here he contributed to space programs such as Apollo and the Mariner. While at Motorola he earned an MSEE from Arizona State University. After 5 years with Motorola, he joined Varo Inc. where he managed the electronics design department developing prototype people-mover vehicles. In 1972, Mr. Scruggs joined the Hewlett Packard Corporation in Loveland, Colorado where he spent the majority of his career. His initial work at HP was designing Automated Test Equipment for the in-house integrated circuit facility. He subsequently moved into the Instrument R&D department where he held various technical management positions such as project manager, section manager and finally R&D department manager. In 1985 Scruggs was made General Manager of  the Manufacturing Test Division responsible for all activities, product development, marketing and manufacturing for that ATE product line. In 1992, Scruggs was promoted to general manager of the Automated Test Business Unit, responsible for several ATE related product lines. A year later, he was appointed a vice president of HP. In 1999 the Test & Measurement Business of HP was spun off to form Agilent Technologies and Scruggs assumed the position of Senior Vice-President of their Automated Test Group. In 2002 Scruggs retired from Agilent and now resides in Greenville, Texas.

Categories: Academy