Leroy Gomez » Academy


The Electrical and Computer Engineering Academy is an important alumni organization made of distinguished ECE alumni and strategic friends. The Mission of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Academy (ECEA) is to guarantee continued excellence in the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department’s teaching, research, and development programs.



The ECE Academy is governed by its by-laws. The latest by-law revision was 2014. To view the current by-laws, click here.


Minutes and Other Files

The ECE Academy 2014 meeting minutes can be found here. [PDF]

The Industrial Advisory Group (IAG) 2014 meeting minutes can be found here. [PDF]

To view Dr. Ranade’s slideshow from the 2014 meeting, click here. [PDF]


The 2013-2014 ECE Academy Officers are listed below:

2013-2014 Academy Board of Directors
Name Position Term End
Manny Mora Chair 2017
Brian Kopp Vice Chair 2018
David Wiegandt Secretary 2017
Scott Miller Treasurer / Finance Committee Representative 2018
Christopher Long
Member 2017
Stephen Horan Past Chair 2016


2013-2014 ECE Membership Committee
Name Position
Joseph Nevarez Co-Chairman
Don Merrill Co-Chairman
John Scruggs Member
Vincent Boudreau Member
Steve Omick Member
Bob Witter Member
2013-2014 IAG Members from ECEA
Name Term End
Andrus Garay 2015
William Garcia 2016
Leroy Gomez 2014
Patricia Nava 2017
Rick Shumard 2018
Gerry Stolarczyk 2018











If you would like to join the ECE Academy, please view this letter for qualifications and requirements: Qualifications and Requirements. The 2014 new member nomination format document can be found here: 2014 New Member Nomination Format The ECE Academy members are listed in the table below:

Charter members inducted in 1991 are indicated by the “‡” next to their names. Deceased members are indicated by the “†” next to their name.

Leroy Gomez

Photo of Leroy Gomez

Biographical Info

NMSU Degrees: 1968 BSEE
Year Inducted: 2008




Experience: 1968-1974, Electronics Engineer, White Sands Missile Range (WSMR), developed mono-pulse receiver for use on HARM Missile and conducted EW and Electromagnetic Environmental Effects measurements on Polaris/Poseidon Missiles; 1974-1981, Team Leader, Army Research Laboratory, WSMR, directed EW, RF and EMI susceptibility and vulnerability assessments measurements and analysis on Army Patriot Missile Weapons System; 1982-1985, Owner and sole proprietor of Southwest Electric Company, conducting electrical construction tasks per New Mexico and National Electrical Code, Rules and Regulations on residential and commercial buildings; 1985-1997, Systems Manager, Army Research Laboratory, WSMR, responsible for planning, managing and executing EW and RF countermeasures programs for DOD, Army Research Laboratory, WSMR; 1997-2008, (Recently retired)  President and CEO of TMC Design Corporation; provided company direction in selling products and services to the U.S. Government and private industry; directed the growth of the company from 4-employees in 1997  with sales of $37,000, to 85 employees and sales of $20M in 2007; instituted an ISO 9000:2000 program, being currently compliant in ISO 9000; directed the construction of new headquarters and manufacturing facilities in Las Cruces, NM, and the acquisition of a second manufacturing/fabrication facility in Bosque Farms, NM; developed the company into a premier Electronic Warfare company directly supporting the war with technology employed in Iraq and Afghanistan; directed company in a two year Mentor/Protégé program with Sandia National Laboratory; opened satellite offices in Smithfield, VA, the Pentagon, Holloman AFB, NM, Bosque Farms, NM, Huntsville, AL and Colorado Springs, CO. Served on the Board of Councilors, Citizens Bank of Las Cruces; the Extra-Territorial Zoning Commission for Dona Ana County and the City of Las Cruces, NM; Board of Directors, New Mexico 8(a) and Minority Association, and; Parish and Financial Council, Our Lady Of Purification Catholic Church.

Categories: Academy