Manny Mora » Academy


The Electrical and Computer Engineering Academy is an important alumni organization made of distinguished ECE alumni and strategic friends. The Mission of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Academy (ECEA) is to guarantee continued excellence in the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department’s teaching, research, and development programs.



The ECE Academy is governed by its by-laws. The latest by-law revision was 2014. To view the current by-laws, click here.


Minutes and Other Files

The ECE Academy 2014 meeting minutes can be found here. [PDF]

The Industrial Advisory Group (IAG) 2014 meeting minutes can be found here. [PDF]

To view Dr. Ranade’s slideshow from the 2014 meeting, click here. [PDF]


The 2013-2014 ECE Academy Officers are listed below:

2013-2014 Academy Board of Directors
Name Position Term End
Manny Mora Chair 2017
Brian Kopp Vice Chair 2018
David Wiegandt Secretary 2017
Scott Miller Treasurer / Finance Committee Representative 2018
Christopher Long
Member 2017
Stephen Horan Past Chair 2016


2013-2014 ECE Membership Committee
Name Position
Joseph Nevarez Co-Chairman
Don Merrill Co-Chairman
John Scruggs Member
Vincent Boudreau Member
Steve Omick Member
Bob Witter Member
2013-2014 IAG Members from ECEA
Name Term End
Andrus Garay 2015
William Garcia 2016
Leroy Gomez 2014
Patricia Nava 2017
Rick Shumard 2018
Gerry Stolarczyk 2018











If you would like to join the ECE Academy, please view this letter for qualifications and requirements: Qualifications and Requirements. The 2014 new member nomination format document can be found here: 2014 New Member Nomination Format The ECE Academy members are listed in the table below:

Charter members inducted in 1991 are indicated by the “‡” next to their names. Deceased members are indicated by the “†” next to their name.

Manny Mora

Photo of Manny Mora

Biographical Info

NMSU Degrees: 1983 BSEE
Year Inducted: 2012




Manny Mora is senior vice president for Strategy, Business Development and Sales and is responsible for developing and implementing the company’s strategic plan for continuous business growth as well as C4 Systems’ overall operations. Mora also directs mergers and acquisitions strategies and business development resources to ensure the company remains a market leader in Command, Control, Communications, Computers, Intelligence, Surveillance and Reconnaissance (C4ISR) technologies, products and systems for military and government customers worldwide.

Mora was previously vice president and general manager of Battlefield Management Systems for General Dynamics. Under his leadership, Mora oversaw the implementation of critical enabling technologies and products for emerging tactical networks including the Command Post of the Future (CPOF) and Tactical Ground Reporting (TIGR) system. He also directed the successful development and implementation of complex systems including intelligence, surveillance and reconnaissance (ISR), mission control, training and simulation capabilities for a broad portfolio of customers that include the U.S. Army, Marine Corps, Air Force, Special Operations Command and international ministries of defence.

General Dynamics C4 Systems is a global leader in the development and integration of tactical internet solutions for customers worldwide. Enabling these and other mission critical systems are radios for military and government users and information security technologies and products that protect information to the highest classified levels.

Mora joined General Dynamics in 1984 and has 30 years of engineering and management experience in the US defense electronics industry. He earned his bachelor’s degree in Electrical Engineering from New Mexico State University in 1983. Mora was the recipient of the Hispanic Engineer National Achievement (HEENAC) Award for Technical Contribution to Industry in 1995. Mora was a member of the Board of Directors for the Hispanic College Fund from 2009 – 2103; and served on the Advisory Board for Arizona State University College of Technology and Innovation from 2012 – 2013.

Categories: Academy