Richard Kohlhaas » Academy


The Electrical and Computer Engineering Academy is an important alumni organization made of distinguished ECE alumni and strategic friends. The Mission of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Academy (ECEA) is to guarantee continued excellence in the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department’s teaching, research, and development programs.



The ECE Academy is governed by its by-laws. The latest by-law revision was 2014. To view the current by-laws, click here.


Minutes and Other Files

The ECE Academy 2014 meeting minutes can be found here. [PDF]

The Industrial Advisory Group (IAG) 2014 meeting minutes can be found here. [PDF]

To view Dr. Ranade’s slideshow from the 2014 meeting, click here. [PDF]


The 2013-2014 ECE Academy Officers are listed below:

2013-2014 Academy Board of Directors
Name Position Term End
Manny Mora Chair 2017
Brian Kopp Vice Chair 2018
David Wiegandt Secretary 2017
Scott Miller Treasurer / Finance Committee Representative 2018
Christopher Long
Member 2017
Stephen Horan Past Chair 2016


2013-2014 ECE Membership Committee
Name Position
Joseph Nevarez Co-Chairman
Don Merrill Co-Chairman
John Scruggs Member
Vincent Boudreau Member
Steve Omick Member
Bob Witter Member
2013-2014 IAG Members from ECEA
Name Term End
Andrus Garay 2015
William Garcia 2016
Leroy Gomez 2014
Patricia Nava 2017
Rick Shumard 2018
Gerry Stolarczyk 2018











If you would like to join the ECE Academy, please view this letter for qualifications and requirements: Qualifications and Requirements. The 2014 new member nomination format document can be found here: 2014 New Member Nomination Format The ECE Academy members are listed in the table below:

Charter members inducted in 1991 are indicated by the “‡” next to their names. Deceased members are indicated by the “†” next to their name.

Richard Kohlhaas

Photo of Richard Kohlhaas

Biographical Info

NMSU Degrees: 1957 BSEE
Year Inducted: 2003




Richard L Kohlhaas, elected to ECEA as a full member in 2003, received the BSEE degree from NMSU with high honors in 1957. He received the MSEE degree from the Air Force Institute of Technology in 1962, and PhD in Electrical Engineering from the University of Denver in 1972. He was a staff member at Sandia Laboratories, Albuquerque, NM,  in 1957. From 1957 to 1979 he was an officer in the US Air Force, retiring with the rank of Lieutenant Colonel, with assignments in ground radar development, reconnaissance satellite development and operation, and intelligence systems. From 1980 to 1998 he was the founder and CEO of Channel Communications, Inc in Colorado Springs, CO, involved in designing, installing and maintaining mobile radio communications systems. He is a life member of IEEE, and a member of Tau Beta Pi, Eta Kappa Nu, and the Radio Club of America.

Categories: Academy