Robert Tausworthe ‡ » Academy


The Electrical and Computer Engineering Academy is an important alumni organization made of distinguished ECE alumni and strategic friends. The Mission of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Academy (ECEA) is to guarantee continued excellence in the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department’s teaching, research, and development programs.



The ECE Academy is governed by its by-laws. The latest by-law revision was 2014. To view the current by-laws, click here.


Minutes and Other Files

The ECE Academy 2014 meeting minutes can be found here. [PDF]

The Industrial Advisory Group (IAG) 2014 meeting minutes can be found here. [PDF]

To view Dr. Ranade’s slideshow from the 2014 meeting, click here. [PDF]


The 2013-2014 ECE Academy Officers are listed below:

2013-2014 Academy Board of Directors
Name Position Term End
Manny Mora Chair 2017
Brian Kopp Vice Chair 2018
David Wiegandt Secretary 2017
Scott Miller Treasurer / Finance Committee Representative 2018
Christopher Long
Member 2017
Stephen Horan Past Chair 2016


2013-2014 ECE Membership Committee
Name Position
Joseph Nevarez Co-Chairman
Don Merrill Co-Chairman
John Scruggs Member
Vincent Boudreau Member
Steve Omick Member
Bob Witter Member
2013-2014 IAG Members from ECEA
Name Term End
Andrus Garay 2015
William Garcia 2016
Leroy Gomez 2014
Patricia Nava 2017
Rick Shumard 2018
Gerry Stolarczyk 2018











If you would like to join the ECE Academy, please view this letter for qualifications and requirements: Qualifications and Requirements. The 2014 new member nomination format document can be found here: 2014 New Member Nomination Format The ECE Academy members are listed in the table below:

Charter members inducted in 1991 are indicated by the “‡” next to their names. Deceased members are indicated by the “†” next to their name.

Robert Tausworthe

Photo of Robert Tausworthe ‡

Biographical Info

NMSU Degrees: 1957 BSEE
Year Inducted: 1991
(Charter Member)






Dr. Robert C. Tausworthe is a retired Senior Research Engineer and Chief Technologist of the Information Systems Development and Operations Division of the Jet Propulsion Laboratory. During his tenure at JPL, he served as Software Chief Engineer of Deep Space Network Digital Systems, Manager of JPL’s Institutional Software Standards development, Deputy Software Manager of the Galileo Project, and Principal Engineer of Deep Space Network Metric Prediction Generation software development. He is the author of the two-volume set, Standardized Development of Computer Software (Prentice-Hall, Inc.), thirty papers in software methodology and analysis, and over one hundred papers in communications theory and mathematics. He was co-investigator in the Celestial Mechanics Experiment of the Mariner V mission to Venus, and innovated the first planetary ranging system, used by that experiment. He has taught at New Mexico State University, University of Southern California, and West Coast University, in Los Angeles. He remained professionally active as a consultant to JPL for 10 years after retirement, during which time he instituted significant improvements in Deep Space Network antenna pointing, communications, and mission scheduling, for which he was awarded a NASA Space Act award. Dr. Tausworthe is a Fellow of the IEEE, and a member of the ACM and Sigma Xi. He also served as a member of the AIAA Software Systems Technical Committee. He has received the NASA Exceptional Engineering Achievement Medal, the NASA Exceptional Service Medal, and three NASA Outstanding Performance Awards. He received the BSEE degree from New Mexico State University in 1957, and the MSEE and Ph. D. degrees from the California Institute of Technology in 1958 and 1963, respectively. He was named a Distinguished Alumnus of the College of Engineering at New Mexico State University in 1988. He was inducted into the NMSU Electrical and Computer Engineering Academy as a charter member in 1991.

Categories: Academy