Roland Thomas » Academy


The Electrical and Computer Engineering Academy is an important alumni organization made of distinguished ECE alumni and strategic friends. The Mission of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Academy (ECEA) is to guarantee continued excellence in the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department’s teaching, research, and development programs.



The ECE Academy is governed by its by-laws. The latest by-law revision was 2014. To view the current by-laws, click here.


Minutes and Other Files

The ECE Academy 2014 meeting minutes can be found here. [PDF]

The Industrial Advisory Group (IAG) 2014 meeting minutes can be found here. [PDF]

To view Dr. Ranade’s slideshow from the 2014 meeting, click here. [PDF]


The 2013-2014 ECE Academy Officers are listed below:

2013-2014 Academy Board of Directors
Name Position Term End
Manny Mora Chair 2017
Brian Kopp Vice Chair 2018
David Wiegandt Secretary 2017
Scott Miller Treasurer / Finance Committee Representative 2018
Christopher Long
Member 2017
Stephen Horan Past Chair 2016


2013-2014 ECE Membership Committee
Name Position
Joseph Nevarez Co-Chairman
Don Merrill Co-Chairman
John Scruggs Member
Vincent Boudreau Member
Steve Omick Member
Bob Witter Member
2013-2014 IAG Members from ECEA
Name Term End
Andrus Garay 2015
William Garcia 2016
Leroy Gomez 2014
Patricia Nava 2017
Rick Shumard 2018
Gerry Stolarczyk 2018











If you would like to join the ECE Academy, please view this letter for qualifications and requirements: Qualifications and Requirements. The 2014 new member nomination format document can be found here: 2014 New Member Nomination Format The ECE Academy members are listed in the table below:

Charter members inducted in 1991 are indicated by the “‡” next to their names. Deceased members are indicated by the “†” next to their name.

Roland Thomas

Photo of Roland Thomas

Biographical Info

NMSU Degrees: 1952 BSEE
Year Inducted: 1999




Dr. Thomas served for more than twenty-six years in the United States Air Force, retiring with the grade of Brigadier General. He served as an engineer at Wright Air Development Center from 1953-1957. From 1959-1979 he was with the Air Force Academy, first as a faculty member in the Department of Astronautics and then as a Professor and Head in the Department of Electrical Engineering. After his career with the Air Force, he continued to work as an engineer for several different companies. From 1979-1982, he was with Kaman Sciences Corporation working in EMP hardened military systems. From 1982-1984, he worked as a Senior Scientist with Mission Research Corporation. From 1984-1985, he was a System engineering Manager at the Motorola Government Electronics Group in Scottsdale, AZ and was responsible for defining the system level reliability and signal processing performance requirements for the baseband processor for the NASA Advanced Communication Technology Satellite Program. In 1985, he founded TCS in Scottsdale, AZ specializing in system engineering of military electronic systems. He retired in 1997 and continues to work in ABET accreditation and textbook writing.


Categories: Academy