Dr. Sheila Horan » Academy


The Electrical and Computer Engineering Academy is an important alumni organization made of distinguished ECE alumni and strategic friends. The Mission of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Academy (ECEA) is to guarantee continued excellence in the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department’s teaching, research, and development programs.



The ECE Academy is governed by its by-laws. The latest by-law revision was 2014. To view the current by-laws, click here.


Minutes and Other Files

The ECE Academy 2014 meeting minutes can be found here. [PDF]

The Industrial Advisory Group (IAG) 2014 meeting minutes can be found here. [PDF]

To view Dr. Ranade’s slideshow from the 2014 meeting, click here. [PDF]


The 2013-2014 ECE Academy Officers are listed below:

2013-2014 Academy Board of Directors
Name Position Term End
Manny Mora Chair 2017
Brian Kopp Vice Chair 2018
David Wiegandt Secretary 2017
Scott Miller Treasurer / Finance Committee Representative 2018
Christopher Long
Member 2017
Stephen Horan Past Chair 2016


2013-2014 ECE Membership Committee
Name Position
Joseph Nevarez Co-Chairman
Don Merrill Co-Chairman
John Scruggs Member
Vincent Boudreau Member
Steve Omick Member
Bob Witter Member
2013-2014 IAG Members from ECEA
Name Term End
Andrus Garay 2015
William Garcia 2016
Leroy Gomez 2014
Patricia Nava 2017
Rick Shumard 2018
Gerry Stolarczyk 2018











If you would like to join the ECE Academy, please view this letter for qualifications and requirements: Qualifications and Requirements. The 2014 new member nomination format document can be found here: 2014 New Member Nomination Format The ECE Academy members are listed in the table below:

Charter members inducted in 1991 are indicated by the “‡” next to their names. Deceased members are indicated by the “†” next to their name.

Dr. Sheila Horan

Photo of Dr. Sheila Horan

Biographical Info

NMSU Degrees: 1978 MSEE
1985 PhD
Year Inducted: 2014





Sheila Horan, PhD is currently an adjunct faculty at Old Dominion University in Norfolk, VA. She joined the Electrical Engineering Technology department in the fall of 2010, and has been teaching 1 or 2 classes a semester since then.

Sheila retired from New Mexico State University at the end of 2009 after 23 years of service. While at NMSU, she taught graduate and undergraduate classes and labs. She served as the freshman advisor for several years which grew into advising all of the undergraduates. She helped develop undergraduate curriculum. She was involved in many outreach activities including working with the New Mexico regional and state Science Fair, Girls Can, SCIAD, and PREP (Pre Engineering Program) as a judge or presenter. Sheila was instrumental in bringing the BEST (Boosting Engineering and Science Technology) robotics competition to New Mexico. She has also worked with the International Telemetering Conference offering a short course, and serving on the Telemetry Standards Coordinating Committee.

Research work and technology development experience was gained through working at the Physical Sciences Lab at NMSU, Science and Technology Corporation in Las Cruces, and White Sands Missile Range at the Instrumentation Directorate, and with the NMSU Telemetry Center at NMSU.

Dr. Horan received an A.B. degree in Mathematics and Physics with a teaching certificate from Franklin and Marshall College in 1976, an MSEE degree in 1978 and then a PhD degree in 1985, both from New Mexico State University.

Categories: Academy