Stephen Horan » Academy


The Electrical and Computer Engineering Academy is an important alumni organization made of distinguished ECE alumni and strategic friends. The Mission of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Academy (ECEA) is to guarantee continued excellence in the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department’s teaching, research, and development programs.



The ECE Academy is governed by its by-laws. The latest by-law revision was 2014. To view the current by-laws, click here.


Minutes and Other Files

The ECE Academy 2014 meeting minutes can be found here. [PDF]

The Industrial Advisory Group (IAG) 2014 meeting minutes can be found here. [PDF]

To view Dr. Ranade’s slideshow from the 2014 meeting, click here. [PDF]


The 2013-2014 ECE Academy Officers are listed below:

2013-2014 Academy Board of Directors
Name Position Term End
Manny Mora Chair 2017
Brian Kopp Vice Chair 2018
David Wiegandt Secretary 2017
Scott Miller Treasurer / Finance Committee Representative 2018
Christopher Long
Member 2017
Stephen Horan Past Chair 2016


2013-2014 ECE Membership Committee
Name Position
Joseph Nevarez Co-Chairman
Don Merrill Co-Chairman
John Scruggs Member
Vincent Boudreau Member
Steve Omick Member
Bob Witter Member
2013-2014 IAG Members from ECEA
Name Term End
Andrus Garay 2015
William Garcia 2016
Leroy Gomez 2014
Patricia Nava 2017
Rick Shumard 2018
Gerry Stolarczyk 2018











If you would like to join the ECE Academy, please view this letter for qualifications and requirements: Qualifications and Requirements. The 2014 new member nomination format document can be found here: 2014 New Member Nomination Format The ECE Academy members are listed in the table below:

Charter members inducted in 1991 are indicated by the “‡” next to their names. Deceased members are indicated by the “†” next to their name.

Stephen Horan

Photo of Stephen Horan

Biographical Info

NMSU Degrees: 1981 MSEE
1984 PhD
Year Inducted: 2011





Stephen Horan, PhD is presently a Principal Investigator for Avionics and Software within the Space Technology Mission Directorate of NASA. In 2009, Dr. Horan joined NASA Langley Research Center as the spacecraft communications lead and ground systems lead for the CLARREO project. Later he became the communications lead for the HEART project and the Acting Branch Head for the Remote Sensing Flight Systems Branch. He also assisted in the communications and mission operations development of a GEO hosted payload and starting a small satellite development laboratory for Langley.

From 1984 through 1986, he was a software engineer and systems engineer with Space Communications Company at the NASA White Sands Ground Terminal where he was involved with the software maintenance and system specification for TDRS command and telemetry systems and ground station operator interfaces.

In 1986 he joined the faculty at New Mexico State University in the Klipsch School of Electrical and Computer Engineering. His teaching and research interests were in digital communications, satellite communications, computer networking applied to satellite links, and telemetering systems. From 1990 to 1998, he was the founding director of the New Mexico Space Grant Consortium. In 1996 he became a Professor, holder of the Frank Carden Chair in Telemetering and Telecommunications and director of the Telemetering and Telecommunications Laboratory where he was responsible for the faculty, staff, students, and research facilities. From 2005 until 2009, he was also the Department Head of the Klipsch School. At NMSU, he was PI or Co-I on over $14M in research grants from NASA and the Air Force. Major projects included 3 Corner Satellite and NMSUSat flight projects, satellite IP networking, ACTS propagation experiment, and planetary RF link modeling. He is the author or co-author of 19 journal publications and 55 conference publications, and the author of the textbook Introduction to PCM Telemetering Systems.

Dr. Horan received an A.B. degree in Physics from Franklin and Marshall College in 1976, an M.S. degree in astronomy in 1979, the M.S.E.E degree in 1981, and the Ph.D. Ph.D. degree in electrical engineering in 1984 all from New Mexico State University. He is a Senior Member of the IEEE, a Senior Member of AIAA, an ABET evaluator, and holder of the amateur radio license NM4SH.




Categories: Academy